I wish my father were a drug junkie, pathological liar, conman criminal, violent psycho or at least a loser of some kind

This reminds me of my own father who left us when I was 6 or younger.

Unkilled Darlings

Strange thing to wish for, eh?

But I do. I wish my father was reprehensible. Some kind of monster, big or small. The kind of guy you would expect to leave his family—to leave his wife for his pregnant mistress and ten years later, to tell his daughter she isn’t allowed to see her sisters again. That’s the kind of thing a drug junkie, pathological liar, conman criminal and/or violent psycho might be expected to do. I could understand that. I could wrap my brain around it. It would make sense, however much my childhood didn’t make sense. People would make sense.

My father is not a drug junkie, pathological liar, conman criminal, violent psycho. He’s a professional from Poughkeepsie who watches football on Sundays and pays his taxes on time. He likes The West Wing and a cold Budweiser. He makes the occasional joke and laughs when things are…

View original post 564 more words

About Sammie Leo

Taking a break and travelling a bit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

